Home US Courier Today Impeaching Donald Trump

Impeaching Donald Trump

Spread the love

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and her cohorts wasted little time putting forth a second set of articles of impeachment against former President Trump. The resolution, released on Jan. 11, was followed by a ceremony on Jan. 13 where she laid out her case. The trial is set to begin in the Senate on Feb. 9.

During her Jan. 13 ceremonial statement, Pelosi explained, “sadly, with her heart broken with what this means for our country,” that “Donald Trump is a clear and present danger to our country,” even though he no longer holds office. Those who support this impeachment claim that former President Trump incited violence during his speech for the Save America Rally at The Ellipse on Jan. 6, just before those who attended walked down to the Capitol to protest the electoral college vote in progress.

Photo/Boston Herald

Presumably, Pelosi bases her argument, in part,  on Amendment XIV, Section lll which states, that no Officer of the United States “shall have engaged in insurrection or rebellion against the same, or given aid or comfort to the enemies thereof. But Congress may by a vote of two-thirds of each House, remove such disability.” The House had asked former Vice President Mike Pence to strip President Trump of his powers through the 25th amendment, to which he replied, “No.”

There were 232 votes for impeachment, with ten Republicans voting yea. There were 197 opposed, with zero Democrats voting in opposition. On Jan. 26, Senator Rand Paul eloquently pled with Congress to flatly dismiss impeachment—declaring that a move to impeach is the “antithesis of unity” and adding that “Democrats are wasting the nation’s time on a partisan vendetta against a man no longer in office.” 

The 10 Republicans who voted for impeachment were:

  • Liz Cheney of Wyoming
  • Tom Rice of South Carolina
  • John Katko of New York
  • Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio
  • Peter Meijer of Michigan
  • Adam Kinzinger of Illinois
  • Dan Newhouse of Washington
  • Fred Upton of Michigan
  • Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington
  • David Valadao of California

4 Republicans did not vote:

  • Kay Granger of Texas
  • Andy Harris of Maryland
  • Greg Murphy of North Carolina
  • Daniel Webster of Florida

Some Republicans,

 » Read More